View Poll Results: How often shut-ins should get a visit from the pastor as a general rule?

Voters
26. You may not vote on this poll
  • I am a pastor and I would say once a week

2 7.69%
  • I am a pastor and I would say once a month

7 26.92%
  • I am a pastor and I would say once a quarter

3 11.54%
  • I am a lay person and I would say once a week

2 7.69%
  • I am a lay person and I would say once a month

3 11.54%
  • I am a lay person and I would say once a quarter

1 3.85%
  • No regular interval needed

8 30.77%
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Visiting Shut-ins

Post Thanks / Like

Visiting Shut-ins

I am interested to see what some of you folks think about visiting shut-ins.
    http://www.steeplesound.com
    Macungie Church of the Nazarene
    Thanks Peggy Gray, John Dahl - "thanks" for this post

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Visiting Shut-ins

I know it's something that I don't do enough of. When I do make the time for that it's always a blessing to me and I believe a blessing to those being visited.

Thanks for the reminder Gary.
    "The limits of tyrants are prescribed by the endurance of those whom they oppress." -- Frederick Douglas
    Thanks Gary Creely, Ryan Scott, Jeremy D. Scott - "thanks" for this post

Post Thanks / Like

About once every two weeks as a layman or at least a phone call or email.

Post Thanks / Like

Even with your qualifier "as a general rule", I couldn't choose. I would have chosen "it depends". How big is the congregation? How many shut-ins? How often does a specific shut-in want/expect a visit? Does the shut-in have friends or family that visit? Is the shut-in a long-time member, or an occasional attender?